HOW TO HELP NOW

COTTONWOOD SAND MINING PROJECT NOTICE OF PREPARATION OF ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT REPORT (EIR) - PUBLIC COMMENTS REQUESTED 10/24/19 - 11/22/19 (4:00pm)
  • Attend Valle De Oro Community Planning Group meeting and provide comments to Board (who will be making recommendations to the County Planning & Development Department) on Tuesday 12/3/19 at 7:00pm during the "Open Public Comment Period" at Otay Water District Headquarters, Lower Terrace Training Room, 2554 Sweetwater Springs Boulevard, Spring Valley
  • Submit written comments to Robert Hingtgen, Planner III at robert.hingtgen@sdcounty.ca.gov
  • Submit written comments to Wendy Tinsley Becker, Valle De Oro Community Planning Group Chairperson at wendy@urbanapreservation.com
COLLECT PETITION SIGNATURES

We must show the County decision makers that the community is opposed and will not allow approval. Collect petition signatures from your neighbors, friends and local businesses. Fill out forms completely (so they are valid) and mail to:

STOP Cottonwood Sand Mine, Org.

2514 Jamacha Road #502-155

El Cajon, CA  92019

COMMUNICATION

Join the mailing list so you receive updates on upcoming meetings and when it's time to take action. Tell others to sign up!

Distribute flyer to neighbors and inform them of the Sand Mine proposal and how to join us to oppose it.

CONTACT COUNTY PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT SERVICES

Written comments should be emailed to Heather Steven, Project Manager at San Diego County Planning and Development Services.

Email:  Heather.Steven@sdcounty.ca.gov

Phone:  (858) 495-5802

Sample Opposition Letter

Add the date, your name, email and address to this sample letter. Edit the letter to include your unique comments. Email letter to Heather Steven, Project Planner. Adapt the letter to also send to the Valle de Oro Community Planning Group and to each Board of Supervisor (contact information below).

CONTACT COMMUNITY PLANNING GROUP

Share comments with the Valle de Oro Community Planning Group at their monthly meetings. They meet first Tuesday of every month at 7pm at Otay Water District Headquarters (2554 Sweetwater Springs Boulevard, Spring Valley), Lower Terrace Training Room. We will let you know when the Cottonwood Sand Mine proposal is on the meeting agenda for presentation, discussion or decision. 

Submit email comments to Wendy Tinsley Becker, Chairperson at wendy@urbanapreservation.com

Contact Wendy Tinsley Becker by phone at (619) 302-0425.

CONTACT BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Comments should be formally shared with all current San Diego County Board of Supervisors:

Greg Cox, Vice Chair - District 1, (619) 531-5511, greg.cox@sdcounty.ca.gov

Dianne Jacob, Chair - District 2, (619) 531-5522, dianne.jacob@sdcounty.ca.gov

Kristin Gaspar - District 3, (619) 531-5533, kristin.gaspar@sdcounty.ca.gov

Nathan Fletcher - District 4, (619) 531-5544, nathan.fletcher@sdcounty.ca.gov

Jim Desmond - District 5, (619) 531-5555, jim.desmond@sdcounty.ca.gov

2019 created by STOP Cottonwood Sand Mine Board of Directors